This website uses cookies to function correctly.
You may delete cookies at any time but doing so may result in some parts of the site not working correctly.
 

Noticeboard


The Orchard Surgery will be closed from 1230 pm on the following dates:


Wednesday 01st April 2020


Wednesday 27th May 2020


Wednesday 10th June 2020


Wednesday 08th July 2020


Wednesday 23rd September 2020


Wednesday 14th October 2020


Wednesday 4th November 2020


Wednesday 2nd December 2020


Wednesday 27th January 2021


Wednesday 10th February 2021


Thursday 11th March 2021

Blood Tests

blood_tests_4A blood test is when a sample of blood is taken for testing in a laboratory. Blood tests have a wide range of uses and are one of the most common types of medical test. For example, a blood test can be used to:

  • assess your general state of health
  • confirm the presence of a bacterial or viral infection
  • see how well certain organs, such as the liver and kidneys, are functioning
A blood test usually involves the phlebotomist taking a blood sample from a blood vessel in your arm. and the usual place for a sample is the inside of the elbow or wrist, where the veins are relatively close to the surface. Blood samples from children are most commonly taken from the back of the hand. The child's hand will be anaesthetised (numbed) with a special cream before the sample is taken.

You can find out more about blood tests, their purpose and the way they are performed on the NHS Choices website.

 
Call 111 when you need medical help fast but it’s not a 999 emergencyNHS ChoicesThis site is brought to you by My Surgery Website